In the afternoon on 26 July the participants of the V International Summer School of Multiculturalism visited the historical places of Shaki and saw its sights.

The familiarization of the summer school participants with this ancient land started with the tour to the Shaki Khans’ Palace, one of the masterpieces of Azerbaijani architecture. The guests were informed that this palace, which is considered one of the unique pieces of Oriental architecture, the XVIII-century unique historical-architectural monument of world significance, is a piece of our people’s highly-developed culture as well as of the applied folk art with a long developmental path.

It was stated that the Shaki Khans’ Palace was built in 1761-1762, the period of Husein Khan Chalabi Mushtag, the grandson of Haji Chalabi Khan, the founder of the first independent khanate in Azerbaijan. No nail or glue has been used in the construction of the palace unparalleled in the world for its construction technology. There are 6 rooms, 4 corridors and 2 balconies with mirrors in the two-storied palace set on the area of three hundred square metres.

The summer school participants had commemorative pictures taken in front of the palace.

Then the visitors had a tour to the area of “Yukhari Bash” [the upper part] State Historical-Architectural Reserve. They were told that the reserve is one of the historical places very often visited by the local and foreign tourists of Shaki.

The summer school participants further familiarized themselves with the late XVIII-century complex “Yukhari [Upper] Caravansarai” situated in the territory of the reserve. The complex constructed in the Oriental architectural style consists of about three hundred rooms and basements. The XVIII- and XIX-century tourists from the Near and Middle Eastern countries stayed mainly in the Caravansarai and traded. At present this monument functions as a hotel.

In the frames of their trip to Shaki the summer school participants also visited the Alban temple in the village of Kish. It was stated that the temple was founded on the basis of the Moon temple common in the Caucasian Albania in the 1st century of our era. The monument built of the limestone is a double-cupola temple of a hall type created in the early Middle Ages. The temple was restored in 2001-2003 in the frames of the Azerbaijani-Norwegian joint project realized by the support of the prominent Norwegian traveler Thor Heyerdahl. To eternalize the scholar’s memory, a bust was erected to him next to the temple. The temple is protected by the state as a historical-architectural monument.

The samples inherent to the culture of Yaloylutapa [Fire valley] and earthenware of the bronze-antique age inside the temple as well as tombs belonging to the Early Middle Ages evoked great interest in the guests.

The participants of the V International Summer School of Multiculturalism left Shaki with pleasant and rich impressions.